Civil Process Page

About Civil Process

The word “process” is a term that covers nearly all acts of the court. Civil Processing requires a notice to the defendant to appear before the court or subjecting the defendant or his property to the jurisdiction of the court. It encompasses all types of writs, orders, summonses, and notices. The Sheriff has the general duty to serve all processes delivered to him. The types of “processes” may be divided into three classes.

– SUMMONS is the initial process. The purpose of the summons is to initiate the suit against and give notice to the defendant of the plaintiff’s complaint.

– INTERMEDIEDIATE WRITS and ORDERS are the continuing processes of a complaint filed with the Court.

– FINAL PROCESS includes all writs and orders the awarded party uses to obtain, collect and satisfy the judgment.

Information Links


Procedure For Service of Papers

Sheriff Sales

Time Limits